Dead Project – Kingdom


There is a natural order to things.

I am not talking about the laws of nature.

Those can, and have, been broken.

And they will continue to be broken

For as long as man kind rule this world.

I always considered those words a good opener for The Kingdom,  a comic idea  I was developing with Davenpoe, a really great artist  and writer. It’s been years and years (and years) since this project died, but I came across this image recently and it made me smile. When this kind of thing happens, finding old art pieces that is, it normally turns into a search for the archived written material, synopses and idea sheets we always pass around when doing a project like this. And there was some pretty good stuff in there!

I recall wanting to do the book in black and white to reinforce the idea that dogs and cats are color blind, and this is a world dominated by evolved versions of felines and canines. Yes, I know cats and dogs can see some color, but I’ll beg artistic license on this one.

If I recall, the idea was to do anthropomorphic characters, but in a very gritty world.

Alas, another project not fit enough to survive. Se la vie.

kingdom

Leo sketch by Davenpoe, inks and tone by me.

One comment

  1. Hi! Project is dead? I`m realy in things like this and going to sculpt something like that.
    Write me at
    legendarion@mail.com
    and we`ll work something out cause art is amasing.

Leave a comment